Colloquium: The 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics

  • Date: –16:30
  • Location: Ångströmlaboratoriet, Lägerhyddsvägen 1 Siegbahnsalen
  • Contact person: Gunnar Ingelman
  • Seminarium

A seminar held on the topic of this year's announcement of the Nobel Prize in Physics announced by The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences by Nils Mårtensson, Senior professor and Joseph Nordgren, Senior Professor at the Department of Physics and Astronomy.

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Physics 2018

“for groundbreaking inventions in the field of laser physics”

with one half to Arthur Ashkin, Bell Laboratories, Holmdel, USA

“for the optical tweezers and their application to biological systems”

and the other half jointly to Gérard Mourou, École Polytechnique, Palaiseau, France and University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, USA and Donna Strickland, University of Waterloo, Canada

“for their method of generating high-intensity, ultra-short optical pulses”.

More information